Keto Day 2: Maple Mustard Grilled Chicken

 

I delivered my baby a year and a half back and since then, I’m struggling to lose weight. I put on about 40 lbs during the course of my pregnancy. Lost about 20 lbs in the first six months, but since then, the weight has been fluctuating. They say once your baby starts walking, you’ll end up losing all that remaining pregnancy weight. I beg to differ. As a mom to a one and a half year old, you hardly get time for yourself.  I’m very irregular to the gym. And to top it all, I cook a lot and in the process, end up tasting all the indulgent dishes too. Hence the stagnant weight.

I decided to take the matter in my hands and started with this really trendy diet, everyone is talking about these days, the Keto diet.  This keto diet is high in fat, supplies adequate protein and is low in carbohydrates. This unique combination changes the way energy is used in the body.  This diet forces the body to burn fats, rather than cabohydrates. So after doing a little bit of research on the internet, I started with the Keto diet about two days back.

My diet mainly constitutes of vegetables, eggs, chicken and fish these days. For a person with the sweetest tooth ever, letting go of the occasional chocolate and cake is proving to be a tad bit difficult, but I’m surviving. It’s just been two days, and all I can dream of, is a big bar of chocolate. But this diet is strangely satisfying. I’m feeling more energized. The most exciting part of this diet is that I love coming up with new recipes. Last night’s dinner was chicken marinated in maple syrup and Dijon mustard, a combination, I absolutely love. I marinated about 150 grams of boneless chicken in 1 tablespoon of maple syrup, about a tablespoon of Dijon mustard, four cloves of garlic, a teaspoon of soya sauce and some fresh thyme. You can substitute the thyme for some dried basil or thyme. Let the marinade sit for an hour or so. Grill the chicken pieces in the oven, halogen or air fryer.  It sure tasted as good as it looked.maple chicken

 

 

Leave a comment